Passing Time

 

images-4On a recent flight, I watched a movie called Mr. Church (2016) starring Eddie Murphy based on a true story of friendship.  The reviews are mixed but I enjoyed it.

At one point in the movie one of main characters talks about Mr. Church…his life was how he passed time in between serving others.  He cooked, painted, gardened and played the piano.  I don’t have this citation exact but this isn’t really about the movie; it is about asking ourselves how we are passing time.

Are we working too much?  Have we forgotten how to pass time with beauty and grace?

Are we rushing, waiting for the next vacation or the unlikely windfall of money?

Are we worried and stressed about things we have no control over?

Can we learn to be present; enjoying activities and contributions in new ways?

Are we living in the moment or looking for continual distraction in social media, trash television, and the news?

This movie prompted me to really reflect on a few things in my own life:

How am I serving others on a daily basis?

How do I pass time?

Are there new ways I can enjoy in the between time more?  What interests have I not discovered?  What contributions have I not made?

I hope you will ask the same questions of yourself.  After all, our legacy will be our service and how we used the time in between.

Inspired, Erin

Inspirational Speaker and Author

www.erinramsey.com

Follow Erin: https://www.facebook.com/ErinRamseyJoy/

Leave a Reply

